Prawn Curry

Sorry I’ve been MIA for so long! I’m actually pleased to announce that my husband and I birthed a beautiful baby girl and that explains why I took a break for a while (a while being a year!). I was craving curry one day and I just started googling some recipes then I ended up putting together this fabulous flavourful curry and without further ado I’ll dive straight into this recipe..

You will need:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 200ml coconut cream
  • 1 tsp tomato purée
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp garamasala
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp chilli seeds/more or less – depending on your tastebuds
  • 1 whole bay leaf
  • 1 tbsp desiccated coconut
  • Salt & pepper
  • Thumb sized ginger, grated
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 2 celery sticks, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 400g tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 onion, diced
  • Handful of coriander, diced
  • 2 bags raw prawns

Preparation:

  1. Pour 1tbsp olive oil into a hot pan which is on a low heat and add in your onions, ginger, bay leaf, tomato puree, garlic and all of your seasonings including the desiccated coconut. Gently stirring to intensify the flavours of the seasonings.
  2. Drizzle the rest of the oil into the pan and add in all of your vegetables and the coriander. Place the saucer over the pan so the vegetables gently steam.
  3. After 10 minutes pour in the coconut cream and add some water if you wish to have a more watery consistency, I left it as it is.
  4. Add in your prawns and boil in the sauce till they turn pink. At this point add in your salt and pepper accordingly and serve with some extra coriander over some rice. I chose to make coconut rice next to it.

 

I hope you enjoy and as always, don’t forget to tag me on instagram @eattravelinspire. To make this vegan use chickpeas in the place of the prawns or mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

